Home is where Mom is!

Yes, for me home is where my mother is. I am in a different state than where my mom is right now. After my marriage, I got relocated to this city where my husband’s workplace is located. We rented a house here, I started cooking, we made it our sweet home. But still, whenever I hear the word ‘home’, I get confused, whether it’s the place where we stay now or where my mom is. Honestly, the first thing that comes to my mind is my mom’s smiling face. πŸ™‚ That four letter word has materialized to a feeling for me..rather than a place or thing!

The natives here speak a different language than my mother tongue. India is a perfect blend of various languages, cultures, religions, festivals, cuisines, rites and rituals. Things are different here from where I was. I am in the process of working on myself to believe that we are not guests here; this is our place too.

home

I liked to draw pictures when I was a child. I think, this might be the image which I had drawn more than a dozen times with some variations each time. Though, I don’t remember exactly where I got this in my mind from. Today I recreated a version of that image in an inland letter card using a pencil which in turn marked the renewalΒ of drawing and an overflow of nostalgic emotions in me. A simple and familiar, yet beautiful scene. A tiny house on the banks of a river which originates from a nearby mountain, a tree in the courtyard of which I am not sure if it’s a mango tree or some other one, some flowerpots, drawn by keeping rose in mind, it may appear different to others as the saying goes, ‘beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder’. In some pictures, there may be pet animals too. The door used to remain closed. This seems to be the image of an evening, as the birds are seen flying towards the mountain. The sun may or may not be there. At times, you may witness even a sunrise from the mountains too! Sometimes, the plot gets twisted to a beautiful night with a crescent moon and innumerable stars all around. You could find it in color as well as black and white versions. Clouds will be there, no matter what. Thinking of sending this to my mom πŸ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Written with feel Anju. Nice. And yes, I could relate to this drawing πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Anju Raj says:

      Thank you Deepika πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a simple sketch and so many emotions! I can so very well relate to your words and that beautiful sketch. Sure your mother will love and treasure it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Anju Raj says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Its great to know that you can relate to my words!

      Like

  3. Beautiful. Happy new year Anjuraj😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anju Raj says:

      Thank you Sumit! Wish you a great year ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

